St Teresa'sCatholic Primary School

'A welcoming family of God, growing and achieving together, with Jesus at our side.' "I am the vine and you are the branches"

Search Search
Translate Translate

Come and See

LEARNING FOCUS 3: Ordinary Time.


In Ordinary Time we are reminded that God is always there to help us live as Christians. During this time, through the Gospels, we are journeying with Jesus on his mission.   

After the Baptism of Jesus until Lent and then after Pentecost until Advent is called Ordinary Time in the Church’s year.  The colour for Ordinary Time is green.  The Sundays are given numbers Second, Tenth, Twenty-Second and so on.  The last Sunday of the year is celebrated as the feast of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe



During this time, there are three cycles of readings for the Sundays of the Church’s year, so we hear the journey of Jesus through three different Gospels.


  • In Year A the Gospel readings come from Matthew.
  • In Year B they come from Mark.
  • In Year C they come from Luke.



The Church has a cycle of three years, so we hear the story of Jesus’ mission from three of the Gospels.  This is one unified cycle, not three set side by side – therefore, the impact and content of the readings are to be judged by their ‘cumulative effect’ over the whole period.  This ensures we have the greatest coverage of Scripture stories of Jesus’ life.  The Gospel of John is used at Christmas and Easter and other times throughout the year.


Answers these questions and complete the activity in your home learning book


  1. How does the Church family journey with Jesus in Ordinary Time?
  2. Why do you think the Church has a cycle of readings for three years?
  3. What do you think about the use of the colour green for Ordinary Time? (green symbolises hope and growth of the Christian life.)
  4. Which Gospel writer is missing from the list?



Write an article for a newspaper or school magazine, having researched the special feast day of your school or parish church.  Include when it occurs, who it is dedicated to and something about the person or feast.



LEARNING FOCUS 4: The feasts of Our Lady.


During the Liturgical Year there are many feast days set aside to remember and celebrate the journey of Mary.  Mary’s journey had joys and sorrows.  Mary was with Jesus during his journey on earth from the beginning to the end.  The Church remembers Mary especially in May and in October and encourages people to pray the Rosary during those months.


The Mysteries of the Rosary show the steps or stages in the life journey of Jesus and Mary. Some are joyful, some sad, some full of light and some glorious.



Look at a Rosary and explain how it is prayed.  Each set of ten beads is for thinking about one of the Mysteries while praying ten Hail Marys.  Each large bead is for praying the Our Father at the beginning and the Glory Be at the end.


Our Lady is also honoured by special feast days, here are six of them:

  • Mary, the Holy Mother of God – 1st January
  • The Annunciation of the Lord – 25th March
  • The Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary – 31st May
  • The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary – 15th August
  • The Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, (Mary’s birthday) - 8th September
  • The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary - 8th December



Answers these questions and complete the activity in your home learning book



  1. What do you know about any of these feast days?
  2. Why is Mary so honoured by these special days?